The Premier Development League (PDL) is a development league sponsored by the United Soccer League (USL) in the United States and Canada. The PDL is currently considered the top-level men's amateur soccer competition in the US. The league has 72 teams competing in 4 Conferences split into 10 Regional Divisions. The PDL is considered to be the 4th tier of competition behind Major League Soccer (MLS), the North American Soccer League (NASL), and the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL).

The Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL) is a national women's soccer league in the United States and Puerto Rico, and is on the second level of women's soccer in the United States below the National Women's Soccer League (NWSL). WPSL is sanctioned by the United States Adult Soccer Association (USASA).

The PDL and WPSL member organizations in Iowa are the Des Moines Menace men's and women's teams. The Menace and Lady Menace play mostly at Valley Stadium from May until August.

Sioux Falls Thunder FC is the NPSL team in neighboring South Dakota. The Thunder play at the USF – Sports Complex.

Resources needed by referees who will be officiating these premier level matches are located in Box in a PDL folder. The information there includes:

• Laws of the Game (LOTG) with Interpretations and Guidelines

• USL Points-of-Emphasis

• PDL Referee Manual

• Menace and Thunder Schedules and Game Day Timeline

• 4th Official Game Log, Substitution Passes, and Referee Report Forms

• Kicks from the Mark (KFTM) Procedures & Checklist

In addition, Just-in-Time (JIT) Training modules for the Duties of the 4th Official and tie-breaking Kicks From The Mark (KFTM) can be found above under Training at Just-in-Time Training.

Premier Development League (PDL)